Timer

India vs New Zealand: bizarre dismissal of Will Young creates controversy

New Zealand opener Will Young was involved in a bizarre layoff at the end of Day 4 while late to make a DRS call. The stopwatch lasts 15 seconds during which it must ask the referee to ask for the help of the TV referee. On this occasion, however, he was late to review a lightweight decision on R Ashwin’s bowling alley. Replays showed the ball had grown large and was comfortably missing the stump of the leg.

Before we get to what has taken him so long, here is the relevant section of the ICC Conditions of Play.

The relevant section 3.2.2 of the DRS states that “the total time elapsed between the death of the ball and the request for review shall not exceed 15 seconds” and “If the referees on the field believe that a request has not been made within 15 seconds, they will deny the player’s review request. “

But there is also another interesting angle.

Did referee Sharma alert the batter after 10 seconds?

He doesn’t have to, apparently. Former TV host and commentator Simon Doul explained on the fifth morning.

“I spoke to the fourth referee this morning. When the DRS timer is displayed on the big screen, the referee does not need to alert the batter after 10 seconds that there are only five ”.

In the past, it was understood that referees should alert.

“The bowler’s umpire must provide the player concerned with a message after 10 seconds if the request has not been made at that time and the player must request the review immediately thereafter,” read the conditions of play before.

Young stood there, shocked that he couldn’t take the DRS, and slowly turned to pull away painfully.

Now to the delay in time. Young first consulted his partner Tom Latham and lost precious seconds there. The Indian voltigeurs were beside them, eagerly watching his movement. Just as the clock struck, Young motioned to the DRS. Too late.

It’s already arrived ?

Yes. In 2019, during a test in South Africa, Hashim Amla was not ruled out in a lbw appeal by referee Aleem Dar. Two DRS timer errors followed.

First, according to the SuperSport show, only 13 seconds had passed when the Sri Lankans asked for the DRS to be taken, but Dar refused, saying the time was up.

Second, the cameras also revealed that Dar did not make any visible prompts after 10 seconds to bowler Vishwa Fernando or the Sri Lankan players.

According to commentators on the SuperSport broadcast of the match, only 13 seconds had passed when Karunaratne called for the criticism, and TV referee Ian Gould was allegedly tasked with timing the 15-second interval between the dead ball and the critical. time limit.

How did the Indian players react?

Ajinkya Rahane was the first to make a move in the Indian group, first telling the drummers that time was up before rushing to the referee to stop him from climbing the stairs. Almost immediately, and unsurprisingly, R Ashwin also rushed to the referee. Umesh Yadav always had a wry smile and Axar Patel, who had joined the group, kept a straight face.

When the Indian players gathered in the locker room, batting coach Vikram Rathour was waiting for them just outside the entrance, who told each of them how far the ball had turned and by how much it had turned. would have missed. Shubman Gill looked shocked and stood there for a while.

A moment later, the cameras zoomed in on the completely exhausted, dazed, sad and seemingly guilty face of Tom Latham, who was sitting slumped in the chair, looking into the distance at nothing in particular.

Why was the DRS timer included?

Controversy erupted after Rahul Dravid was handed lbw by the DRS during a test in Galle in 2008.

The DRS was then tested by ICC and things got really busy in this game. Dravid was not ruled out by referee Billy Doctrove of Muttiah Muralitharan. A long wait ensued as there was no time limit at the time and Mahela Jayawardene, the captain, chatted with her teammates.

He then walked over to Referee Doctrove and asked him the reason he hadn’t given it. Doctrove told him he thought the impact was on the outside of the stump – Dravid was off for a sweep and got hit on the pad. Immediately, knowing the impact was online, Jayawardene opted for DRS. At the time, the rules did not officially say that players could not ask the referees for the rationale for their decision.

Jayawardene would later say, “He (Billy Doctrove) said he hit the tampon on the outside of the stump.

“In the time frame that was given to us, I should be able to ask the referee why he said not to go out. They gave us time to ask a few people, like the wicket keeper and the bowler. , and at the same time, I can also ask the referee.

Dravid was visibly angry when he was finally kicked out and slammed his bat to the ground as he walked away

Later rules came into effect regarding the DRS timer.



Source link