Timer

Jonny Bairstow furious as Kane Williamson signals DRS after time runs out; distributed dough

Jonny Bairstow told the referees his displeasure after Kane Williamson and SRH’s review was upheld.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) wicket-striker Jonny Bairstow was left furious after a DRS review by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain Kane Williamson was upheld despite the time lapse during an IPL 2022 match on Sunday, April 17.

Bairstow had a brief chat with the referee on the pitch, visibly upset and angry as Williamson was able to consider an LBW call against PBKS flyhalf Prabhsimran Singh despite the 15-second limit on his conclusion.

In an obvious mistake by match officials, the SRH skipper was able to continue with his review and get Singh out even though time was up and the review could not have been confirmed under ideal circumstances. The moment made Jonny Bairstow really angry and he let one of the permanent referees know.

Jonny Bairstow gets angry after mistake allowed SRH to uphold DRS review

The incident on the last ball of the 5th during the first round of the PBKS. Facing left arm pacer SRH T Natarajan, Singh attempted a big shot through the side with a shuffle but missed. The ball hit the pads en route to the hands of SRH goalkeeper Nicholas Pooran, who called for the LBW along with Natarajan and the rest of the field unit.

This sparked the interest of skipper Kane Williamson as he waited for proper communication from his players before continuing with the DRS signal to the referee. However, the New Zealander requested the review when the clock ran out, with a zero visible on the screens.

Watch: David Warner’s daughter upset after father’s dismissal in DC vs RCB IPL 2022 match

The review was confirmed and an enlarged replay confirmed that Singh had placed the ball inside on his pads and directly into Pooran’s hands to be caught, not LBW as SRH had originally hoped to appeal. They still had their man.

But PBKS were appalled at what happened as they lost a wicket in the review when SRH shouldn’t have had the right to do so in the first place.

Aware that Kane Williamson was reviewing the call after time expired, Bairstow took the matter up with the referees and pointed out to them that the giant screen had shown ‘zero’ when SRH opted for DRS.

The match officials, however, stuck with the decision made by the third referee and made no last-minute backtracking from that call despite Bairstow’s efforts to convince them that Williamson had gotten the timing wrong.