Marinelli becomes a 4-Timer with the Big Ten Championship

LINCOLN, Neb. – University of Iowa senior Alex Marinelli won a 2-1 decision in the 2022 Big Ten Championship Finals to win the 165-pound conference title and become the eighth four-time Big Ten champion in the program history.

Marinelli, seeded No. 2 at 165, scored on a breakout and earned a point for stalling against fourth-seeded Cameron Amine. He gave up a breakout in the third to clinch his fourth title.

Marinelli is Iowa’s first four-time conference champion since Mark Ironside won his fourth conference title in 1998. Joe Scarpello, Iowa’s first four-time conference champion, won his first title 75 years ago in 1947 Marinelli is just the 17th four-time champion in Big Ten Conference tournament history.

“I don’t know if I fought my best today and sometimes your worst should always beat your best,” Marinelli said. “It’s been 24 years since we had a Big Ten champion in Iowa. I’m so grateful and blessed. I had to wrestle in many Big Ten championships, and I did. Everything the world remembers the national champion, right?So we have more to do.

The Hawkeyes were 1-3 in the championship final. Austin DeSanto lost a 3-1 decision at 133 pounds and Jaydin Eierman (141) and Tony Cassioppi (285) both had medical waivers.

DeSanto finished second at the Big Ten Championships for the second straight year, dropping a 3-1 decision to Penn State’s Roman Bravo-Young in the 133-pound final. The wrestlers traded breakouts to start the second and third periods. Bravo-Young scored the decisive points when DeSanto was put in a neutral danger position with 20 seconds left in the third. The withdrawal survived review and the final score stood, 3-1.

At the back of the table, Max Murin finished his tournament with a 4-1 record, including a victory by medical forfeiture in the 149-pound consolation final. Murin’s third place is his best in four tournament appearances.

Two Hawkeyes dropped out of third-place fights to place fourth. Kaleb Young lost a 3-1 decision in a sudden victory at 157 pounds and Jacob Warner fell, 3-1, at 197.

Iowa placed third with 129.5 points. Michigan won the team title with 143.0 points. Penn State ranked second with 141.5.


“The story should be about Alex Marinelli winning his fourth title. That’s a big deal. It’s a rare company. That story should be that we’re going to Detroit. We’ve got 10 guys going to Detroit. We “We’re third in the team race. It’s not where we want to be. It’s not where we like to sit. We have an opportunity to do something about it moving forward.”


Ten Hawkeyes earned automatic berths for the NCAA Championships in Detroit March 17-19. It’s the first time since 2010 that Iowa has secured 10 automatic berths for the national tournament. The Big Ten Conference tournament is one of seven NCAA qualifying tournaments across the country. The NCAA will announce the NCAA General Qualifiers on Tuesday. NCAA tournament draws will be released on Wednesday.


  • Alex Marinelli won his fourth straight Big Ten title. He is the eighth four-time conference champion in program history and the first since Mark Ironside in 1998.
  • All 10 Hawkeyes made the podium and seven placed fourth or better.
  • Ten Hawkeyes earned automatic berths for the 2022 NCAA Championships. This is the third straight year and sixth time under Tom Brands that Iowa has sent its entire roster to the national tournament.
  • Drake Ayala is the fourth true freshman to earn an NCAA championship berth under Brands (Nathan Burak, 2013, Spencer Lee 2018; Abe Assad 2020; Drake Ayala 2022).
  • Tony Cassioppi advanced to his first career final at the Big Ten Championships. Cassioppi is twice third.
  • Murin’s third place was his best in four tournament appearances (7th, 5th, DNP).


133 – #1 Roman Bravo-Young (PSU) Dec. #2Austin DeSanto (IA), 3-1
141 – #1 Nick Lee (PSU) mff. #2 Jaydin Eierman (IA)
165 – #2 Alexander Marinelli (AI) Dec. #4 Cameron Amine (MICH), 2-1
285 – #1 Gable Steveson (MINN) mff. #2 Tony Cassioppi (IA)

149 – #4 max Murine (IA) mff. #3 Ridge Lovett (NEB)

157 – #10 Brady Berge (PSU) Dec. #2 Kaleb Youth (IA), 3-1 SV1
197 – #5 Pat Brucki (MICH) dec. #4 Jacob Warner (IA), 3-1


1.Michigan 143.0

2. State of Pennsylvania 141.5

2.IOWA 129.5

4. Ohio State 91.5

5. Northwest 90.5

6. Minnesota 78.5

7. Nebraska 75.5

8. Wisconsin 68.0

9. Rutgers 41.0

10.Purdue 36.5

11. Illinois 34.5

12. Michigan State 33.0

13. Maryland 15.5

14. Indiana 4.0