West Bengal Meeting elections 2021: elders recall 1982 ends in Darjeeling

Two days earlier than the Darjeeling votes, elders immediately bear in mind the 1982 Darjeeling Meeting election which was received by PMC candidate Dawa Lama by a margin of simply 309 votes.

“The present political scenario in Darjeeling jogs my memory of the 1982 elections. I used to be a primary time voter on the time and right this moment the seat in Darjeeling additionally stays open,” stated Poonam Kumar Sharma, a lawyer who’s now 58 years previous.

Many elders do not forget that the 1982 election was a watershed second in some ways and that there’s discuss of the end result of the subsequent election.

Amar Lama, a political commentator, stated: “After this election, the Akhil Bharatiya Gorkha League (which was a pressure to be reckoned with till the emergence of Subhash Ghisingh in 1986) was by no means capable of win. main election and has utterly misplaced its luster.

Within the 1982 elections, CPM’s Dawa Lama was against ABGL’s JDS Rai.

One other group within the hills, Pranta Parishad, had, nonetheless, referred to as for an electoral boycott demanding a separate state. Following the boycott name, 60,012 votes representing 59.4 % of the whole votes had been solid.

Whereas Lama polled 29,165 votes, Rai received 28,856 and the variety of rejected votes was 1991. The consequence was not with out twists and turns.

“JDS Rai and his supporters walked out of the counting room to have a good time their victory solely to be informed moments later that he had misplaced the election. There was some confusion within the rely which I can not bear in mind precisely, ”stated Govind Chhetri, CPMR Normal Secretary, who was then with the CPM.

On this election, the existence of three regional political teams, two factions of the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha led by Bimal Gurung and Binay Tamang and the Gorkha Nationwide Liberation Entrance (GNLF), is in steadiness.

The 2 Morcha factions assist the Trinamul Congress however compete with one another. GNLF helps BJP.

“In the event you take a look at the crowds that every one three teams appeal to, you’ll be able to’t rule out tight competitors like 1982,” stated lawyer Sharma.

The ABGL is now divided into three camps with two of the factions clashing.

No different Meeting election up to now has come as shut because the 1982 polls.

The truth is, with the emergence of GNLF and later Bimal Gurung’s Morcha, meeting elections have all the time develop into a one-sided contest within the hills.

Take the outcomes of the 2011 Darjeeling Meeting siege. Morcha’s Trilok Kumar Dewan received the seat by a margin of 1.05 lakh votes. Dewan received 79 % (1.20,532) of the whole vote, whereas rival Bim Subba of the GNLF received simply 9 % (13,977) of the vote.

This one-sided pattern, in keeping with most elders, is altering in Darjeeling on this election.

Supply hyperlink